On the evening of 15 November Bournemouth Reform Synagogue hosted “Inter Faith Voices” for Interfaith Week, in conjunction with Bournemouth and Pool Faith Links and the Interfaith Network, as part of the Synagogue’s community outreach that it is undertaking to mark its seventieth anniversary. The evening saw members of the Jewish, Christian, Muslim, Buddhist, Sikh, Hindu, Baha’i and Humanist faiths each give a short talk on what makes their belief system or worldview special. More than seventy people of all manner of faiths, including the Mayor and Mayoress of Bournemouth, were in attendance and the speakers spoke freely and passionately about their respective faiths.

Maurice Michaels, incumbent Rabbi of Bournemouth Reform Synagogue and a trustee of the Interfaith Network, commented that the success of the evening demonstrated that the three objectives of Interfaith Week – to strengthen relations, increase awareness and promote understanding between those of all faiths and none – had been fulfilled.

Chair of Bournemouth Reform Synagogue, Deborah Tendler, said that she was very grateful to the Faith Links team for putting on such an inspiring and informative evening and explained that, "as the Synagogue marks its seventieth anniversary, it is an appropriate time to think about how we can further strengthen interfaith bonds within the local community".


Pictured: Our speakers gather for a photo opportunity.

Friday 15 December 
1830 Shabbat Evening Service
Saturday 16 December
1030 Shabbat Morning Service
Sunday 17 December 
1430 Seventieth Anniversary Chanukah Finale
Monday 18 December 
1900 Biblical Hebrew 
2000 Beginners' Judaism
Tuesday 19 December 
1000 Coffee Morning
Wednesday 20 December 
1000 Art Group
Thursday 21 December 
1400 BRS Bridge
Friday 22 December
1830 Shabbat Evening Service
Saturday 23 December 
1030 Shabbat Morning Service
Wednesday 27 December 
1000 Art Group 
Friday 29 December 
1830 Shabbat Evening Service

Take a look at our latest newsletter.
Subscribe below.